Calculate how much each visitor is worth
Products you can work with include a catalog of over
Pets - pet care
work at home <- -> PPC and keywords|
HOW to bid
|I've talked about the fact that you need to bid in order to get placed on these search engines. Let's talk now about HOW to bid. You already know the importance of having a large number of keywords. Once you have your list of terms to bid on, you'll need to decide how much to pay for each click. To ensure that your advertising on a pay per click search engine is cost effective, you'll need to calculate how much each visitor is worth, so that the price you are paying is less than the money generated by the visit. This is commonly known as making a profit and is naturally highly recommended :)|
To do this, analyze the number of visits to your site over a month, look at the profit from all your sales (ie. how many DSL subscriptions did your sell, or Long Distance, or how many Affiliates signed up), and divide one by the other. This will show you how much profit you make from each visitor to your site.
- Let's say you are selling the IAHBE membership (the /iahbe Gateway), which earns you a commission of $8 (disregarding the other income streams), giving you a profit of $8 a sale. Last month you made 5 sales, which is an income of $40.
- Your server logs show that you had 1000 visitors to your website last month. As your profit for the month was $40, then each visitor to your site is worth 4 cents ($40/1000)
- So if you were to bid 4 cents for the term “home business” for instance, and you continued to receive 1,000 visitors per month, and continued to sell 5 SFI Magazine subscriptions per month, you would break even on your advertising, conversely if you paid 5 cents for that keyword you would be taking a loss of 1 cent on every click, while a bid of 3 cents would earn you a profit of 1 cent for each click.
Armed with the knowledge of what your maximum bid should be (in other words your break even point) you can decide how much to bid for your listings and how high in the search results you are going to be. Ideally you want to be in the top ten or twenty results, and at the very least on the first page of results.
Using our example, if the top bid for “home business” is currently 10 cents it would clearly not be sensible to bid 11 cents to be number one and you would have to settle for a lower position. If position 10 would cost you 3 cents that would be a much better option because you would be making a profit. Sure, the top position would get you more traffic, but that would be at a loss.
It's also important that you monitor your bids regularly to make sure that you are getting the maximum value from your listings. Quite often advertisers will, for whatever reason, either reduce or even remove their bid which results in large gaps between bids. For example there are many instances where advertiser one is paying 50 cents, advertiser two 48 cents and advertiser three 26 cents. If advertiser two reduced his bid to 27 cents he would still be in second position but would be making an instant extra 21 cents profit per click!
Training help for MIQ SFIers
PPC search engines
by Billy Martin
Starting a business
Your SFI Gateways
Get your mail
My own business
Miss Ellen's flyer
Articles, F.A.Q. leisure time